My Facebook Dilemma

Photo by bensteinAs I talked about in my last post, I have stepped away from Facebook. The rhetoric on both sides was more than I could take.

But I also know that running away never solves anything.

It’s been a peaceful few weeks. True, I don’t get to see the recipe videos and kitten pictures, but I can do that on Twitter. I am calmer, less worried, and more at peace since I left Facebook.

At the same time, I know that I am missing real stuff – family announcements, personal notes, people’s birthdays.

So what to do?

I have considered getting back on Facebook. But it can’t be as I was before.

I would have to limit what is in my feed. That means I won’t see people’s stuff unless I go looking for it. And frankly, if someone has been offensive enough to land there, I probably won’t look. So how is that different from being off Facebook altogether? I guess it differs in that I get the kitten pictures and the recipe videos.

There are people I will end up banning, I am sure. I’m no stranger to this – I have had to do it several times with the Facebook associated with my “pro” blog.

So I have one request: let’s all respect each other. We can agree to disagree. We can listen without being threatened. We can all learn from each other.

And we’ll see if I can handle Facebook under these guidelines.


Photo by benstein

Leave a Reply

