Back in the Fold

Photo by dew drop157It’s been an interesting couple of years, career-wise. I left a job in information technology with the thought that I could make a difference and entered teaching. I did one year teaching high school math…and I know that I did make a difference to some of my students. But after one year I had enough, and moved back to information technology. Back to my old company, in the same consulting position (different client).

In December I attended the company Christmas party. It was the first time I had seen many of my co-workers since I had come back to the company.

I was received with enthusiasm. Very few people expressed surprise that I went to teaching or that I came back. Most were curious as to why. And that is fair. I told them that I wanted to make a difference, and that teaching wasn’t the type of challenge that I needed. Instead of being intellectually challenged, I was challenged to remember what I had taught to which class. But regardless of how the discussion went, I was welcomed back warmly.

Many of the people in my company I have worked with at other jobs, both as clients or employee. Many of the old-timers I work with I have worked with for over 20 years. It’s a very small IT community here, and everyone knows everyone. Instead of 6 degrees of separation, it is more like one or at most two. It is good to be back in a close community of professionals, and to be treated like a professional.

It’s good to be back in the fold.


Photo by dew drop157

Leave a Reply

