The Subjunctive

Photo by lgb06I ran across a thought the other day, about how the words of regret are couched in terms of “should’ve”, “could’ve” and “would’ve”. And to a great extent, this is true. Most people phrase their regrets in these terms. “I should have done…”. “I could have done….” “I would have done…”

But can’t this also be taken as the language of possibility? Indicating that you had choices?

What if we were all aware of our choices, and instead of seeing them as a source of regret instead saw them as a series of choices, and we chose what worked best for us?

I believe that we all do the best we can. But sometimes I know I can do better just by being aware of my choices.


Photo by lgb06

Save

Leave a Reply

