Out of My Element

Photo by XcBiker

My daughter is a percussionist. While I appreciate all the instruments she can play, I am out of my element.

She’s preparing for an upcoming auction, and that involves listening to recordings. Except the audition music is not the music for the full movement. So we have to guess where it fits in.

If it were flute, it would be no big deal. I could figure it out. But not on snare, or even tambourine. I feel as helpless as if I knew nothing about music at all.

And the terms! Buzzes, paradiddles and other bizarre techniques are things she is practicing. They all sound the same to me…

I am lucky that she has a really good instructor, who is patient, able to get her to work, and also a professional performer. He is also kind enough to provide links to exactly the equipment she needs, so I am not trying to muddle through it on my own.

The next few months will see her auditions through. And maybe she will get a spot in a prestigious program that will challenge her as well as help her grow.


Photo by XcBiker

Leave a Reply

