The Quiet of Mornings

Photo by @lattefarsanIt’s early on a Sunday morning, and I am the only human in the house awake.

I have never been a morning person, but I have come to treasure these quiet mornings, when there are no distractions and when I can read and write and think uninterrupted.

It has seemed to me, once I passed the teenage years where I physically couldn’t get up, that being up early in the mornings adds so much time onto the day.

That’s not to say it can’t be too early. I am not a morning person, and I can’t get up to enjoy the quiet on weekdays…5:45 is too early as it is, and having to be to work by 6:45 leaves no time for the quiet expansion of time for reflection and writing, except on those rare occasions where I either get to bed by 8:30 or I can’t sleep.

So I enjoy these quiet times on the weekends. When summer comes, I will probably spend a bit of time catching up on my sleep, but after that, the early mornings will resume.


Photo by @lattefarsan

One thought on “The Quiet of Mornings

  1. 5:45?? Wow, that’s sleeping late for me… I became a morning person some years back when I was leaving the house before 4:30 to be at work 26 miles away for 5:00… Really sucked in Winter…

    Actually have a hard time sleeping in on weekends too. But I have to agree about enjoying the “quiet time” when I’m the only one up. I can enjoy a cup of coffee, and catch up on stuff on the computer/online… Enjoy your time to yourself.

Leave a Reply

