Morning Routine

Photo by MuffetOne of the things I have tried recently is to implement a new morning routine. I read the book “Miracle Morning”, which recommends getting up earlier to do personal development.

I’ve been doing it for a few weeks now, and I am actually getting a lot out of it.

First of all, I spend a bit of time each morning writing a journal. I use a software program that asks specific questions in various areas. I answer three questions in the morning, and the rest at night.

The next thing I do is write my “morning pages.” Julia Cameron advocates writing three pages every morning of free-flowing text. I find that it is a good way to clear the decks and get rid of the mental flotsam (or is it jetsam? I can never remember) that blocks creativity. While I doubted its efficacy the first few weeks, in the last week I’ve been generating lots of really good ideas from this session.

Next I do some meditation. I never “had time”. Now I have time, and I find it centers me. Then I will spend some time thinking about my “areas of importance”… areas of my life that I have determined I want to exert effort in every day.

The last part has been particularly, and surprisingly, beneficial. I take five to ten minutes are read a non-fiction. I struggle to read non-fiction (fiction is so much easier to read and is more entertaining, after all!) But in the month since I have started this process I have finished four non-fiction books.

I wasn’t wild about getting up at 5:30, but I am really glad that I gave it a try. And I haven’t managed to do this every day. But I have seen so many benefits from this that it is something I will continue to do.


Photo by Muffet

Leave a Reply

