Walking In The Woods

Photo by scotbotAs I’ve said before, autumn is my favorite time of year. I like being outside, without worrying about the heat or the insects that come with summer.

We are lucky to have a state park within the city limits. It has extensive walking and biking trails, going through forest, swamp and in tidal river.

Last year I got my dose of fall hiking when I took my Girl Scout troop geocaching. Since I have no sense of direction and cannot read a map or GPS, I was able to hand that off to the other adults and just enjoy the walk. It was beautiful and peaceful. (For the most part…after all, making pre-teen girls walk more than 10 feet is always going to elicit complaints!)

This year I am going to hit the trails again. Whether it is on foot or on bike remains to be seen.


Photo by scotbot

Leave a Reply

