The 2:30 am Phone Call

Photo by cbownsThe phone rings at 2:30 in the morning. Immediately the heart starts pounding. Who is injured? Or dead? Is everyone here accounted for? Where’s my husband and daughter? Where are the animals?

I stumble to the phone in the office, and pick it up to hear a recorded voice. School must be canceled, my sleepy brain tells me. But there is no snow. And it’s 2:30 in the morning, I see on the clock.

Then it sinks in. The city has called everyone to let us know that a blockage on a road that is on the other side of the city is now clear.

I go back to bed, now fully awake, heart racing.

The calls were sent out in error – a city worker sent them to the entire city.

Still, even if I lived in that area…would I really want to know in the middle of the night that the road was unblocked? Why not wait until closer to commute time?


Photo by cbowns

Leave a Reply

