My Nonfiction Reading in 2014

Photo by seyed mostafa zamaniIn past years I have tried to bump up the number of non-fiction books I read by setting goals.

It’s really easy to say “I’m going to read 12 non-fiction books this year.”

The problem comes for me in actually doing it.

This year I’ve made it a bit more concrete. I went through my backlog of non-fiction books and decided which ones would have the most impact as far as my blog business. I chose 12 of them. Then I figured out the length of each book and how long it would take me to get through the book. For a straight reading book, it would take less time than a programming book with examples to follow.

Then I set out the books on the calendar. January saw three of the books being completed. February and March are a programming book, leading to the launch of the newly re-designed website in April.

It’s interesting what happens when you actually translate the goal into steps to be done.


Photo by seyed mostafa zamani

Leave a Reply

