On Simplifying…

Photo by Moyan_Brenn

I have been approaching the idea of voluntary simplification for several years now. I realized, though, that I cannot follow someone else’s methods and make something that is right for me.

The most marked example of this was when I was asked to review a book about a man who has only 100 possessions (actually, he has more than that, because he grouped things to count for one, and excluded all household things and furniture). Could I live with 100 things? Probably. Would I be miserable? Definitely.

One method I was reading said that you should have one pen and carry it around. Fine for them. I need a pen in my purse, by my desk, and next to every phone in the house.

For me, it’s not about minimizing to the point of discomfort. It’s more about right-sizing and bringing possessions in line with what I use.

I am working on decluttering my house right now. I started with my closet, and have purged some things not worn in over a year. I’ve gone through my books several times, and there is another purge coming. The kitchen will be next. I can see that several specialty baking pans will make their way out of the house.

The goal is about getting rid of things that do not bring me joy or are not used. It’s not about purging everything from my life.


Photo by Moyan_Brenn

Leave a Reply

