Generating Ideas

I consider myself a writer. While I admit I am not published in the traditional sense, the length of time I have been blogging both here and at my “pro” blog has given me a substantial body of work.

7 years worth, give or take a few months.

Writing requires ideas. Ideas come from inspiration. Except when they don’t, and the writer is faced with “writer’s block.”

I will be the first to admit that I take inspiration when I can get it, and 6 out of the 7 unfinished novels were the product of major brainstorms.

But the last novel started with an idea and a lot of pulling and pushing to get the story out. And it’s also the only one that I have completed an alpha draft in.

The blog is no different. It used to be that I had no lack of things to write about. These days, however, I rely heavily on my ideas lists, as well as just pushing through.

The muse is a fickle creature, and she does not visit me every day. And yet I produce every day.

My husband, deep in the writing of an audit finding report, told me that I wouldn’t believe how hard it is to write when you’re not inspired.

I’m not sure if he doesn’t understand how uninspired I often am or if he doesn’t realize how much writing I do. Probably a combination of both. But I looked him square in the eye, and said, “You’re telling ME this?”

And then I wrote it down as a blog topic.

Leave a Reply

