Sock Mutations

Photo by Susan E Adams

We all know how the dryer eats socks. You put a pair in, and you get one sock back out. And the missing sock might be coughed up years later, but for the most part, it vanishes into the ether.

My dryer has a new trick. It isn’t eating socks, it’s producing non-matching socks.

Let me explain.

A few months ago I bought 6 pairs of black socks in a package. What I didn’t realize is that all these socks have subtle pattern differences in their knitting. So I sighed, matched the patterns, and rolled them into balls.

Since then I am getting the same number of socks out of the dryer, but slowly over the weeks none of the patterns match.

I couldn’t believe it. So I pulled all the socks out, laid them side by side, and found that I couldn’t match any of the patterns on the socks.

I have to conclude that the dryer not only ate the singles from each pair, but produced a new sock with a pattern variant from the materials of the swallowed socks.

Needless to say, if you see me wearing black socks these days, they don’t match.


Photo by Susan E Adams

Leave a Reply

