Blueberries

Photo by cagrimmett

We have picked strawberries for years now, but this year I was encouraged by the bunches of berries on my blueberry bushes.

Until the birds got them.

They didn’t even wait until the berries were ripe, either, so it wasn’t a matter of getting the ripe berries first. They ate those things green.

So our piano teacher gave us the lead of an in-sprayed provider. So on the 4th my daughter and I went out to pick.

Blueberries are easier to pick than strawberries. The “bushes” are shoulder high and easy to reach. We filled out baskets quickly and then went across the road to pick blackberries.

I appreciate these opportunities to work with my hands directly for my food. Perhaps it is the generation of farmers that I descend from. Or perhaps it is just getting in touch with the planet and plants that sustain us.

But either way, I have blueberries in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

