Spontaneous Combustion

Photo by Velo Steve

This one is too good to keep to myself.

I was ‘teaching’ Sunday school. This is another way to say that I was the second adult body in the room in order to conform to our safety standards, but had been asked 10 minutes before, so had no knowledge of the lesson.

One of the things we were talking about was not believing everything you read, see on the internet, see on television. We were also talking about social justice, and how important it can be to do small changes. So I was floored when a boy said, in response to our lack of air conditioning the sanctuary:

"But old people can’t get too hot or they’ll catch on fire!"

I looked at the teacher, who easily is 15 years older than me, and struggled to keep a straight face. He was struggling not to laugh as well.

"But I saw it on Discovery Channel!"

It was good to know that he really thought about the content of the program.

But then I realized, to him, I am "old".

Should I start carrying a fire extinguisher with me in case I spontaneously combust?


Photo by Velo Steve

2 thoughts on “Spontaneous Combustion

  1. As Art Linkletter’s show proved, kids will say the darnedest things…

    Other than that I can’t say too much myself… You know why… LOL

  2. The Discovery Channel probably got that from a paper in Science a couple of months ago. It was an interesting study, but not quite as sensational as the DC version, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

