Why Ask?

Photo by Helga Weber

I’ve often wondered why people ask opinions.

I mean, I know why I do it.

It’s because I want to know someone’s opinion on something.

So why do other people ask for opinions…and then ignore them? I’m not talking about "do you think this makes me look good" kind of things.

I’m talking where people approach me for opinions in areas that I am considered an expert in, and then go their own way.

This has happened twice in the last month.

I probably wouldn’t be that upset about it, but after being informed they were going their own way, both times I was informed, by people who don’t have any practical experience in the areas they asked my opinion, that I didn’t know what I was talking about.

So why ask to begin with?

I grumbled to a friend of mine, and she told me that many people ask for opinions when they have already made up their mind. If the expert opinion agrees with what they had decided, it is just added support. If it doesn’t, then it becomes a matter of proving the expert wrong.

So you know what? I’m not going to be answering any requests for opinions from people I don’t really know. Unless they pay me, but that’s another story….


Photo by Helga Weber

4 thoughts on “Why Ask?

  1. I had that happen even when people paid me, during my technology consulting days. It wasn’t so much about proving me wrong, but I agree that they had already made up their minds. It didn’t really bother me, since I got paid anyway 🙂

  2. I probably wouldn’t be so miffed except that in both cases I was asked to volunteer and committed time and energy just be be blown off. That should teach me!!!!

  3. If it helps… Remember a couple of months ago I asked for some advise regarding my computer and keeping clean and safe?? Well, I did follow your advice and am very glad I did. Have the programs you suggested on all our computers and have installed them on some other friends systems too…

  4. But there’s the rub: you wanted to know what *I* did to keep my computer safe and clean…and you didn’t turn around and tell me that I didn’t know what I was talking about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

