The Spin on Spinning

Photo by ingermaaike2

When people at the office started telling me they took up spinning, I was puzzled. Why would these men sit down with a spindle and work with wool? It wasn’t until a few days later that I realized what they meant. The spinning exercise.

It works the other way, too. I have been dabbling in spinning — the other kind. Where you take a carded fleece from a sheep or some other fur-bearing animal, and turn it into yarn. But when I tell people I’ve been spinning, they assume it’s the exercise.

It’s been an exercise, alright – in frustration. My teachers made it look really easy. But it’s not easy at all. It requires coordination (which I don’t have much of) and an ability to do fifteen things with your hands at once.

But I will persevere, because it is actually very relaxing.


Photo by ingermaaike2

Leave a Reply

