Paddle Faster. I Hear Banjo Music.

Photo by Sougent HarropIn spite of years of musical training, I have never accustomed myself to the sounds of some instruments. Most I can tolerate for a short period of time, but I’ve never become appreciative. Single reed instruments grate on my nerves. Accordions will clear me out of a room quickly. And banjos can be tolerated for a limited amount of time, or in the context of bluegrass (again for a short time).

It was with great bemusement that I beheld a spectacle during a recent vacation. The group I was with had gathered for “community time” and a stand of musicians were not far from where I was sitting chatting with friends. It was only after a little while that I realized that in the middle of the group of singers was…

A banjo player…

An accordion…

And a clarinet.

Head for the hills!


Photo by Sougent Harrop

One thought on “Paddle Faster. I Hear Banjo Music.

Leave a Reply

