Scented Memories

Photo by di_the_huntressSomeone at a client site many years ago gave me a tip for making strong holiday memories: keep a specific scented candle burning during the time, and your child will always remember the scent and associate it with home.

While I do have my favorite Christmas Cookie candle that we burn during the holidays, I also use a lemon-scented candle every week. I light it while I am doing my weekly household tasks as a way to clear the air. I didn’t realize how this had worked in my daughter’s memory until she walked in, sniffed, and said, ‘You must be cleaning today.’


Photo by di_the_huntress

Leave a Reply

