Revisiting the Classics

Now that my daughter is starting to read on her own, and progressing into chapter books, I thought about the books I got to enjoy when I was growing up. The Little House books, Anne of Green Gables, and Rebbecca of Sunnybrook farm all popped into my mind. In fact, I started to buy these books when she was an infant, waiting for the day when we could read them together.

My daughter is now being asked to read 10 minutes a day, and the standard picture books don’t last that long. So I gave her the choice, and we pulled out Anne of Green Gables.

I read the first chapter, getting lost in the story as Mrs. Rachel Lynde scolds Marilla Cuthbert for being so rash as to take an unknown boy into her house…after all, orphans sucked eggs and poisoned wells (only if they are girls, apparently) and set the houses on fire. The last sentence of the chapter gives a foreshadowing that Mrs. Lynde would be even sorrier for the child if she could see who was waiting to be picked up at the train station. What a wonderful story of an orphan who learns to love and be loved and blossoms under the steadying influence of Avonlea.

At the end of the reading my daughter looked up and said, “I don’t get it.”

I guess we’re not there yet.

2 thoughts on “Revisiting the Classics

  1. My 7 year old is not interested in any of those books either. But she did fall in love with the first couple of Harry Potter books last year (I read her a chapter or two, then she’d read a chapter on her own). Of course by book 3, things were getting too scary.

    And she just devoured all 6 books the library had of the Weird Planet Series.

    I too had collected a few books I wanted to share. Apparently our reading tastes may be very different. Or she may appreciate those books when she’s older.

    I’m just thankful she shares her parents’ love of reading.

Leave a Reply

