Strawberries

Photo by Anushruti R The time for strawberries is upon us here, and according to our tradition, my daughter and I went out one sunny Sunday morning. We picked the standard twenty pounds (give or take the amount that she ate), and headed home.

I enjoy this once-a-year occupation, because I sit out on my deck in the sunshine as I clean the berries, and then I dabble with old-fashioned domesticity as I “put up” the strawberry jam.

This year, by the end of the day, I had put ten quarts of sliced strawberries in the freezer, and made up two batches of strawberry jam. A very satisfactory day all around.


Photo by Anushruti R

Leave a Reply

